This Beautiful Chaos

DSCN0482

I feel like as my life moves forward, those words are going to be the constant description of it all.

Beautiful chaos. 

Amidst the decisions and choices. The dreams and the vast unknown.

Lately, the words “I don’t know” have been slipping across my lips more than is comfortable for me. And I’m not one that normally needs the rigidity of a perfectly laid plan.

Yes, it might seem like “chaos” in my limited knowledge. But there’s that undeniably beautiful part. This story that God is watching unravel. He is with me every step of the way. Through every unknown, every plan change, every “I don’t know” that I utter. Through the doubts and confusion, God is right there. Arms wide open. Beckoning, saying “Don’t worry, my darling. I love you more than you could ever imagine, and I would never let you deal with this scary world on your own. Trust in me and my plan for you. Call out to me and I will take care of you, my dear child.”

“Meanwhile, the boat was far out to sea when the wind came up against them and they were battered by the waves. At about four o’clock in the morning, Jesus came toward them walking on the water. They were scared out of their wits. ‘A ghost!’ they said, crying out in terror.

But Jesus was quick to comfort them. ‘Courage, it’s me. Don’t be afraid.’

Peter, suddenly bold, said, ‘Master, if it’s really you, call me to come to you on the water.’

He said, ‘Come ahead.’

Jumping out of the boat, Peter walked on the water to Jesus. But when he looked down at the waves churning beneath his feet, he lost his nerve and started to sink. He cried, ‘Master, save me!’ Jesus didn’t hesitate. He reached down and grabbed his hand. Then he said, ‘Faint-heart, what got into you?'” 

{Matthew 24-31 The Message}

 

Jesus did not hesitate. He reached down and grabbed Peter’s hand. And he’s reaching out his hand to you. And to me.

That, my friends, is the beauty in the chaos.

3 thoughts on “This Beautiful Chaos

Leave a Reply

